Using Moai

Image

I’m working on expanding a personal prototype into a game that can be played on current mobile devices, including iOS and Android.

I decided to try my hand with Moai, even though their focus on Lua goes a bit against my background in C++. At the end of the day though, I wanted something I could get started with right away.

Tools:

  • Moai: cross-platform 2D engine with a Lua interface.
  • ZeroBrane Studio for editing: Includes Moai debugging and auto-complete
  • GitHub: for revision control. I’ve used Mercurial in the past and it worked well, but I wanted an online repository, and the interface the GitHub windows tool provides is pretty good. I can also pull the Moai github repository using it, which is a bonus.
  • Notepad++: for various edits. Great editor overall.
  • GIMP: good replacement for Adobe Photoshop, at least from the point of view of a cheap programmer.
  • Inkscape: for line art. Replaces Adobe Illustrator.
  • TexturePacker: great program for creating spritesheets and compressing textures.
